Back to Newsletter

A New Chapter for the CCSU Math Department

The founding members and officers of the Connecticut Gamma Chapter of Kappa Mu Epsilon celebrated its membership on March 24 in Memorial Hall. (Photo by John Atashian)

CCSU is now home to the Connecticut Gamma Chapter of Kappa Mu Epsilon, the National Mathematics Honor Society. Chapter members marked the occasion with a March 24 installation ceremony in Memorial Hall at which chapter leadership inducted 23 students and five faculty members into the group.

The Connecticut Gamma Chapter joins approximately 150 other chapters across the United States. KME, founded in 1931, encourages and promotes interest in mathematics among undergraduate students. Its members include “students of mathematics and other closely related fields who have maintained standards of scholarship, have professional merit, and have attained academic distinction,” according to its website.

Faculty charter members of Connecticut Gamma are professors Marian Anton, Mihai BăileÅŸteanu, Nelson Castañeda, Rachel Schwell, and Frédéric Latour.

The Connecticut Gamma Chapter officers are students Zoe Anne Cramer, president; Nilay Nitin Bhatt, vice president, Rina Saliu; recording secretary; and Cassady Brooke Zipkin, treasurer. 

Other student charter members of Connecticut Gamma are: Olivia Baillargeon, Jeffrey Blankenship, Rong Chen, Luke D’Ascoli, Natalie Decker, Patrick Dzioba, Robert Johnston III, Heath Loder, Lilia Miller, Nicholas Pipino, Andrew Pelletier, Michael Quinonez, Landon Renzullo, Ryan Schmidt, Patryk Stolarz, Damian Szarwacki, David Thorne, Pedro Urbina, and Peter Woolard.

Each initiate signed the Connecticut Gamma Chapter Roll and received a certificate, membership card, KME brochure, a program, and a KME pin.

Chapter leadership plans to launch a website and announce more information about membership criteria soon.

More News

Ready to go!

Extra Credit

Tenures and promotions for 2018-19

Courier staff


Marisa Nadolny


Amy J. Barry, Kate Callahan '14, Loretta Waldman


John Atashian, Michael J. Fiedler, Johnathon Henninger

Contact us

The CCSU Office of Marketing and Communications produces the Courier online four times a year. Contact us at (860) 832-1790 or or drop by our office in Maria Sanford Hall, Room 104. Reach us by mail to Office of Marketing & Communications, Central Connecticut State University, 1615 Stanley St., New Britain, CT, 06050.


Follow us


CCSU Alumni