Winter Commencement 2022

Saturday, December 17

Honorary Degree Recipients

Doctor of Commercial Science

Michael S. Knapp ’75, President and CEO, CitiFinancial May 25, 2002

Doctor of Criminal Justice

Paul J. McQuillan, Attorney, Januszewski, McQuillan & DeNigris February 23, 2004

Doctor of Health and Physical Education

David C. Campo ’73, Head Coach, Dallas Cowboys Football Club May 22, 1999

Doctor of Humane Letters

Jimmy Carter, President of the United States April 16, 1985
Ernest L. Boyer, President of the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Learning October 5, 1987
Gerald R. Ford, President of the United States March 23, 1988
Mary Hatwood Futrell, President of the National Education Association October 4, 1988
Benjamin L. Hooks, Executive Director of the NAACP May 20, 1988
Mong Koo Chung, Chairman of the Hyundai Precision and Industry Company May 26, 1989
Donald W. Davis, Chairman of The Stanley Works May 26, 1989
J. Huang, Chairman of the C. J. Huang Foundation May 10, 1990
Shigenori Adachihara, Mayor of Atsugi City, Atsugi, Japan May 23, 1990
Angelo Tomasso, Jr., Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Tilcon, Inc May 25, 1990
Jeanne J. Kirkpatrick, United States Representative to the United Nations April 4, 1991
Simon A. Clarke, Education Advisor to United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization May 24, 1991
Franz J. Rothenbiller, Lord Mayor of Rastatt, Germany June 6, 1991
Young Seek Choue, Chancellor of Kyung Hee University October 22, 1991
Francis T. Vincent, Jr., Commissioner of Major League Baseball  April 28, 1992
Helmut Schmidt, Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany April 28, 1993
Eric Jensen, Deputy to the Under-Secretary-General and Special Representative for Public Affairs of the United Nations May 27, 1993
Lech Walesa, President of Poland April 10, 1996
Bruno Ficili, Commissioner of Education, Siracusa, Italy October 23, 1996
Chungwon Choue, President, Kyung Hee University May 23, 1998
Rt. Rev. Monsignor John Paul Wodarski, Pastor Emeritus, Holy Cross Church April 29, 1999
Irma Margarita Nevares de Rosselló, First Lady of Puerto Rico May 20, 1999
The Rt. Rev. Justice O. Akrofi ’71, M.S. ’74, Bishop of Accra, Ghana May 18, 2000
Captain Lemuel Rodney Custis, 1st Lieutenant Edward T. Hall, Flight Officer Connie Nappier, Jr., Lieutenant Colonel Bertram W. Wilson, Connecticut Tuskegee Airmen May 26, 2001
F. Don James, President Emeritus, Central Connecticut State University October 16, 2003
Noam Chomsky, Professor of Linguistics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology November 4, 2003
Joseph J. Grano, Jr., Chairman and CEO, Centurion Holdings, LLC May 19, 2007
Carol A. Ammon, Founder & former CEO, Endo Pharmaceuticals 2010
Charles T. Fote, Chair & CEO First Data Corp. 2018
Scott Pioli ’88, Former NFL Executive 2019

Doctor of Laws

Jozsef Antall, Jr., Prime Minister of the Republic of Hungary September 30, 1991
J. William Burns, Commissioner, Connecticut State Department of Transportation January 3, 1995
George H. W. Bush, President of the United States March 11, 1999
George J. Mitchell, U.S. Senator and Senate Majority Leader April 12, 2000
George W. Bush, President of the United States April 18, 2001
Peter G. Kelly, Senior Principal, Updike, Kelly & Spellacy February 25, 2003

Doctor of Pedagogy

Cecile A. Walden, Principal, Sam Sharpe Teachers’ College May 27, 2004

Doctor of Public Service

Fran P. Mainella, M.S. ’75, Director, National Park Service May 23, 2002
Rabbi Henry Okolica, CCSU Campus Clergy May 22, 2003
Lowell P. Weicker, Jr., former U.S. Senator and Connecticut Governor May 27, 2009

Doctor of Science

Antonia Coello Novello, Surgeon General of the United States May 28, 1993
Andrzej Wiszniewski, Rector, Technical University of Wroclaw May 28, 1993
Alexander M. Butman, Executive Director, Emergency Training Institute April 28, 1994
E. Dorrit Hoffleit, Senior Research Astronomer Emerita, Yale University October 20, 1998
Phyllis Macpherson-Russell, Minister of Education, Jamaica December 4, 1999
Professor Dr. Rainer Dieterich, Universität der Bundeswehr, Hamburg May 25, 2002
Professor Leszek Balcerowicz, Professor of Economics and Head of the Department
of International Comparative Studies, Warsaw School of Economics May 21, 2011

Doctor of Social Science

Harry Jack Gray, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, United Technologies Corporation May 17, 1985
Henry A. Kissinger, Secretary of State of the United States March 24, 1987
Brian Mulroney, Prime Minister of Canada April 26, 1994
Vincent O’Leary, President, State University of New York at Albany May 28, 1994

Winter Commencement '22

Saturday, Dec. 17, 1 p.m.
Snow Date: Sunday, Dec. 18

Welte Auditorium


New Britain Mayor Erin Stewart '09



Honorary Degree Recipients