Back to Newsletter

Faculty lauded for Excellence in Teaching

(Photo by John Atashian)

The Excellence in Teaching Committee announced the winners of the Excellence in Teaching Awards on April 19, as part of the sixth annual Faculty Day festivities. Nominations for Excellence in Teaching Award candidates come from the campus community.

Maria Lourdes Casas, Modern Languages, earned the full-time faculty award, and Mitchell Charkiewicz, Economics, won the part-time faculty award.

The following faculty members were selected as finalists and semi-finalists for Excellence in Teaching awards. According to the EIT committee, these individuals “demonstrate a remarkable ability to engage students, to work effectively both inside the classroom and the larger CCSU community, and to remain open-minded about refining their teaching techniques even after years of teaching.”

Full-time Finalists

Michele Dischino; Technology & Engineering Education

Frederic Latour; Mathematical Sciences

Part-time Finalists

Christopher Montes; Psychological Science

Full-time Semi-finalists

Charles Button; Geography

James French; Literacy, Elementary, & Early Childhood Education

Antonio Garcia-Lozada; Modern Languages

Julia Kara-Soteriou; Literacy, Elementary, & Early Childhood Education

Kate McGrath; History

Part-time Semi-finalists

Cathleen Donahue; Management Information Systems

Alexandra Maravel; History

Honor Roll – Full-time

Fatemeh Abdollahzadeh; Computer Science

Luz Amaya-Bower; Engineering

Marian Anton; Mathematical Sciences

Mihai Bailesteanu; Mathematical Sciences

Kathleen Bantley; Criminology and Criminal Justice

Michael Bartone; Literacy, Elementary, & Early Childhood Education

Rebecca Boncoddo; Psychological Science

Caleb Bragg; Psychological Science

Elizabeth Brewer; English

David Broderick; Computer Electronics & Graphics Technology

Jotham Burrello ; English

Linda Clark; Educational Leadership, Policy & Instructional Technology

Edward DePeau; Mathematical Sciences

Betsy Dobbs-McAuliffe; Biomolecular Science

Lee Einhorn; English

Mark Evans; Geological Sciences

Joseph Farhat; Finance

Rocio Fuentes; Modern Languages

Amy Gagnon; Physical Education & Human Performance

Timothy Garceau; Geography

Reza Ghodsi; Engineering

Wangari Gichiru; Educational Leadership, Policy & Instructional Technology

Leah Glaser; History

Matthew Heinly ; Psychological Science

Katherine Hermes; History

Reginald Holt; Counselor Education & Family Therapy

Barry Hoopengardner; Biomolecular Science

Christopher Hoyt; Theatre

Keith Hughes; Communications

Andrea June; Psychological Science

Martin Kapper; Biomolecular Science

Paul Karpuk; English

Lindsay Keazer; Mathematical Sciences

Khoon Koh; Marketing

Leona Konieczny; Nursing

Kerri Langevin   Nursing

Christopher Lee Management & Organization

Chee Hoi Leong Physical Education & Human Performance

Charisse Levchak; Sociology

Megan Mackey; Special Education & Interventions

Jeffrey McGowan; Mathematical Sciences

Michele McKelvey; Nursing

Marisa Mealy; Psychological Science

Tatiana Melendez-Rhodes; Counselor Education & Family Therapy

Edward Moore; Engineering

Brian Osoba; Economics

William Price; Geography

Anurag Rimzhim; Psychological Science

Christina Robinson; Economics

Sinead Ruane; Management & Organization

Talat Salama; Manufacturing & Construction Management

Karen Santoro; Mathematical Sciences

Samantha Schenck; Economics

Fumilayo Showers; Sociology

Jason Sikorski; Psychological Science

Ivan Small; Anthropology

Robbin Smith; Political Science

Sarah Stookey; Management & Organization

Katherine Sugg; English

Nghi Thai; Psychological Science

John Tully; History

Harold Vedeler; History

Jeremy Visone; Educational Leadership, Policy & Instructional Technology

Matt Warshauer; History

Stephen Watton; Chemistry and Biochemistry

Robert Wooster III; Mathematical Sciences

Honor Roll - Part-time

David Barlar; Accounting

Angela Gulielmetti; Modern Languages

Joan Walden; Communication


More News

Ready to go!

Extra Credit

Annual breakfast honors MLK's legacy

Provost announces 2019 promotion and tenure recipients

Courier staff


Marisa Nadolny


Amy J. Barry, Kate Callahan '14, Loretta Waldman


John Atashian, Michael J. Fiedler, Johnathon Henninger

Contact us

The CCSU Office of Marketing and Communications produces the Courier online four times a year. Contact us at (860) 832-1790 or or drop by our office in Maria Sanford Hall, Room 104. Reach us by mail to Office of Marketing & Communications, Central Connecticut State University, 1615 Stanley St., New Britain, CT, 06050.

Courier archive

To read stories from past editions of the Courier, visit the archive at


Follow us


CCSU Alumni